jump to navigation

Sick of “omics” July 3, 2008

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

First, it was proteomics, analysis of proteins. Then, there has been petronomics (analysis of petroleum), peptidomics (peptides), metallomics (biometallic molecules)…..others people might have heard that I have not.

OK, everyone wants sexy, glitzy sounding research. But these names seem to be grasping for hot and trendy. If I want hot and sexy, I’ll not be thinking chemistry. If I want glitzy and trendy, I’ll be thinking of art, music, movies, etc.,, but not about science. Maybe if someone does analysis in pheromonics of homo sapiens, then I’ll starting of the two dichotomies as one.

Comments»

1. Milo - August 17, 2008

OK, you irritated a sore I thought had healed….

I did my postdoc for a famous toxicologist who was looking into the metabolism of fatty acid epoxides. He wanted, no joke, to map the “epoxidome”, through, “epoxidomics”. Basically, he wanted a reagent that would selectively derivatize an epoxide, so that it could be detected via LCMS.

I am still bothered, 4 yrs later, by this.

2. fetzthechemist - August 17, 2008

Yes, it is that gratuitous use that bothers me. It now is something just intended to make it easier to get research funds.


Leave a Reply

