jump to navigation

Standing out in a crowd March 3, 2009

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.
trackback

A post on My Chemical Journay, entitled My New Superpower, describes the author’s effect on people.

http://mychemicaljourney.blogspot.com/

This got me to thinking about my own effect.

I have a distinctive appearance which is augmented by my being somewhat tall, 6’2″. Over the years I have had people come up to me and say hello or in some other way show they recognize me.

Once I was going from the BART station, the San Francisco Bay Area’ rail transit system, and going to a Golden State Warriors’ game. So there is a crowd around me of literally hundreds of people bustling every which way. A guy said hello and didn’t I work for Chevron (which I did back then). He was a night-shift janitor who just saw me occasionally leaving as he arrived for work.

At other times I have had people who recognize me from the photo I use on my webpage, career articles, and other things that need a picture. I can understand people who I have interacted with in person, but it boggles me to thing I make an impression in passing.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

