jump to navigation

Coffee, tea, and me April 24, 2009

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.
trackback

Growing up with both parents being heavy coffee drinkers, ones that had a cup first thing in the morning and then more scattered through the day, I surprisingly was not much of a coffee drinker until well into adulthood. Growing up, coffee was something you had sometimes in very cold weather instead of cocoa, but it was always liberally mixed with milk and dosed with sugar. Those even stopped during my teens and through my twenties. I restarted drinking coffee in my early thirties. This time it was a mug in the morning with breakfast. A mug was a half spoonful of sugar and a splash of milk or a bit of that imitation powdered creamer to cut any acidity. Gradually over time the amounts of the two supplements dwindled until now I drink most coffee black, unless it is acidic – that gets some cream or milk. Growing up mainly in the South, tea meant black tea and the iced version as a summertime drink. Most iced tea you get in the South is already sweetened and often very heavily so. I still drink iced tea a lot, but the traditional hot form was a rarity until I had a couple of trips to London, in my early thirties. Now I have tea once or twice a week instead of coffee. No milk, but often with a squeeze of lemon juice. I used to not think the caffeine in these affected me, but now I know I cannot have coffee after dinner if I want to get to sleep readily later. But during the day I do not notice any awakening or invigorating effects. Both, however, keep me regular, but it is not due to caffeine. The fresher the coffee, the more the effect. Coffee ground from beans and then brewed really is effective. Ground coffee varies, especially that in restaurants.

Comments»

1. psi*psi - April 24, 2009

I’m on my way to becoming a coffee snob…I won’t use the drip coffee makers anymore, just a french press. (Only espresso wakes me up, though.) I need about a half teaspoon of sugar per cup unless it’s a light roast. I’ve always found sweet tea disgusting! I can drink it green, straight, and usually when I’m sick, though.

2. fetzthechemist - April 24, 2009

Sweet tea, the Southernism for that God-awful stuff. It must be made at the saturation point for sugar. I like green or white tea as is, but sometimes add lemon. I have not yet gone coffee-press snobbery, but to occasionally get specialty beans, like having friends going to Hawaii pick up some Kona or Kuaii. If they have Peets down in Santa Barbara, you like it – very good expresso and other dark or French roasts.

3. Will - April 27, 2009

Tea doesn’t really do it for me; I like some Snapple (especially the white tea), flavored bubble tea, and some of the Arizona flavors… basically anything that doesn’t taste like tea very much.

As for coffee, I’ve begun drinking it black, just so much more convenient. And @psi*psi, I love my french press…

4. Ψ*Ψ - April 28, 2009

I LOVE Peet’s…the biochem prof who turned me into a coffee drinker stocked nothing but.

5. fetzthechemist - April 28, 2009

I do not know how far down the coast Peet’s are. They opened on about a mile from my house, next to a Trader Joe’s. So I stop in for coffee or a bag of beans sometimes. There really is a trifecta since there is a nice Japanese restaurant in between the two. I think you love SB and the California lifestyle – SB seems more like an offshoot of San Francisco than it does of LA.

6. fetzthechemist - April 28, 2009

I do not know how far down the coast Peet’s are. They opened on about a mile from my house, next to a Trader Joe’s. So I stop in for coffee or a bag of beans sometimes. There really is a trifecta since there is a nice Japanese restaurant in between the two. I think you love SB and the California lifestyle – SB seems more like an offshoot of San Francisco than it does of LA.


Leave a Reply

