jump to navigation

And now we just wait for the real name… June 11, 2009

Posted by fetzthechemist in Elements, Uncategorized.
trackback

The International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) has now finished their review of claims for discovery of element 112. This has been greatly anticipated, at least by me, since it was scheduled to be announced in “early 2009” a couple of years ago.

The German  team led by Professor Sigurd Hofmann has been announced as the discoverers. They now must choose a traditional name to replace the provisional IUPAC one of ununbium. Personally, I detest those IUPAC provisional names. They were created as pseudo, cute name, but using “element 112” seems just as good.

When I was in junior high, I had visions of going into nuclear chemistry and even wrote Dr. Albert Ghioroso at the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory. He sent me a pile of their reprints on elements 88 through 104, the ones being worked on back then. The field has continued to intrigue me since. I was lucky enough to meet Dr. Ghiorso and Dr. Glenn Seabourg at an American Chemical Society meeting in San Francisco about a dozen years ago (I think).

With teams in the US, Germany, Japan, and Russia all colliding large nuclei into even larger nuclear targets, maybe we’ll have a flurry of new elements in the next few years.

Comments»

1. Will - June 12, 2009

For a long time I never understood why some elements were allowed to have three-letter symbols, and why they had such weird names. Ever since that IUPAC system was explained to me, I have been continuously amused by it. Sure, element 112 would work, but it’s pretty easy to figure it out from ununbium once you know how to read it.

Willium would make an excellent element name; hopefully Hofmann reads your blog and the comments to see my brilliant suggestion.


Leave a Reply

