jump to navigation

Not quite kicking and screaming June 24, 2009

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.
trackback

Last week, I received an email from the American Chemical Society announcing that they are going virtual and virtually printless. Only a tiny handful of their publications, C&E News was one of four, Accounts of Chemical Research was another) will still be provided in paper-and-ink versions.

I have subscribed to one or two ACS journals for decades, always Analytical Chemistry and sometimes Environmental Science and Technology or Energy and Fuels. Being of the boomer generation, the comfort of reading paper is there. I focus more intently and for longer periods.

Yes, I read a lot of electronic versions of articles. I review a lot of manuscripts for journals, read articles relating to work or that people send me. I can do it and absorb the information. But that subliminal relaxation that browsing paper never is part of that.

I’ll adapt and adopt the electronic journals. I have to. There’s no alternative. It might even be palatable if publishers like ACS lower subscriptions because printing and distribution costs will disappear – I’d subscribe to more journals to counterbalance any decrease for the ones I have.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

