jump to navigation

Planes and trains October 6, 2009

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.
trackback

My trip up to Reno promived another opportunity to do something I have learned to like, yaking a train trip. I had never done this until September 2001. I was at a conference in Concinnati when the terrorist attacks closed all of the airports. So when the conference was done I took a midnight train, not to Georgia but to California.

The first leg was from Cincinnatu to Chicago. Not very eventful, just a morning ride into town. Then I waited in the hustle and bustle of the station to catch the California Zephyr west. People watching is a hobby, so the time flew by. I boarded and they had us seated in cars by how far we were going. So my car was full of people heading to Sacramento and the Bay Area. A commonality. Many were like me, stranded by no planes. I met several people and there was lots of conversation – and I still connect to one or two of them now.

There was both a dining car that served pretty good meals and a snack/ bar car. At night they even showed movies in the latter. Next to the snack/ bar car was the observation car. It was designed to give great views, lots of big windows. That trip is planned so that the dull homogeneities of Iowa/ Nebraska and the Utah/ Nevada desert are passed during nights. You do get to see Colorado’s Rockies and river gorge and similar terrain in the run from Reno to Sacramento.

So this short trip gave a flavor of that. I looked at the scenery and read quite a bit of the new Dale Brown book (The Lost Symbol, the sequel to The Da Vinci Code….maybe more on that when I am done with it). A very pleasant contrast to the faster, but less entertaining trips by air.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

