jump to navigation

Ok, I finally caved in and listened to Green Day October 28, 2009

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.
trackback

I live in the part of the San Francisco bay area that is where the members of Green Day lived and grew up. (It also was home to Les Claypool of Primus fame.) So I heard on and on about the local band that was making a splash, becoming famous, becoming a hit group, et cetera. The plaqce Billy Joe Armstrong’s mom works at now is just a couple of miles down the stree and I eat breakfast there once in a while. Rod’s Hickory Pit, the now-defunct restaurant where she used to work in Vallejo, has another place about a block from where I first lived here. Some of Green Day lived in my suburb, even.

Not being a jump on the bandwagon type as far as my musical tastes, I never went out of my way to listen to any of their records. I was the same way about Oasis, the “new Beatles”. The press hype just seemed too big to really warrant listening. I always expect disappointment on such band.

Well, on my recent trip to South Carolina, I was awake late suffering from the jet lag of being three hours earlier compared to California. Flipping through the hotel’s cable channels, I caught a repeat of Saturday Night Live, which I rarely watch – after the 70s and 80s versions with Chevy Chase, Dan Ackroyd, John Belushi, Bill Murray, et alia, the newer ones just seem lame most of the time. This show had Green Day as the musical guest. Their two or three sings were pretty good, at times reminding me of Brit Pop bands like Blur or Oasis (yeah, they are pretty good after my earlier procrastination on them, too).

So I went out and bought Dookie, American Idiot, and 21st Century Breakdown. I like them. They are a good listen despite the ever-present talk of them here.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

