jump to navigation

No geezer rock here February 26, 2010

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.
trackback

AS regular readers know, my musical tastes are not rooted in any one era. The genres are not too wise-ranging; although I do have a few CDs or LPs of classical or country music, it is mainly rock and pop. I have tended to go with what was called progressive rock in the 60s and 70s, Pink Floyd, Todd Rundgren, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, the Who, the Kinks, the Moody Blues are some of my favorites from the years of growing up and through college and grad school. Now it is into alternative music, Radiohead, the Flaming Lips, Oasis, Coldplay, the Dandy Warholsand a tad older stuff of Blur, the Verve, Elvis Costello, the Smiths, Brian Jonestown Massacre.

My observation is that most people do not keep their tastes modern. Theirs are set in the time from junior high (middle school) through college days. Anything older is known, but not what send them nor is there much, if any, listening to anything newer. Among my generation there is even the phenomenon of “geezer rock”, the artists and bands of the 60s and 70s touring and giving concerts of their hits. I haven’t seen any, yet many of my age group go often. Among my high-school best friends it is a big pastime. For me, a Bald and aged Peter Frampton is no draw. I liked his music then and remember it vividly enough. The Super Bowl appearances of the Who, the Rolling Stones, and Paul McCartney were hohum, even maudlin.

Comments»

1. Michael Guzzo - February 27, 2010

You’re right, I grew up listening to the same music, but I too don’t want to pay money to watch a Peter Frampton concert… or any other “geezers”, unless they have some really good new stuff.

But, I’m guilty of having my musical tastes mostly rooted in one era (70’s). I like many of the songs of the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s. There are even a few younger artists whose songs I enjoy.

But, it’s hard identifying with a lot of the modern artists, especially hip-hop and rap musicians.. and I’m not sure that I want to.

2. Aging Rockers : Guzzo Extempore - March 1, 2010

[…] was reading “No Geezer Rock Here” on Fetz the Chemist a couple of days ago. I think we both agree that, at some point, aging […]


Leave a Reply

