jump to navigation

The chemistry Nobel goes to chemists! Yay! October 6, 2010

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.

For the first time in a few year, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry actually went to three chemists! Richard Heck, retired from the University of Delaware, Ei-ichi Negishi at Purdue University, and Akira Suzuki of Hokkaido Universitywon for their various work on the forming of carbon-carbon bonds throughpalladium catalysis, a hot and valuble field of organic chemistry.

In fact the physics prize for studies of graphene are more akin to physical organic chemistry than what most of the physics Nobels of the past couple of decades has been.



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: