jump to navigation

Update on those new books January 8, 2012

Posted by fetzthechemist in Uncategorized.
trackback

After a few months of reading, I can tell you about the books I purchased last October and November. But I will not give descriptions to spoil the reading, just assessments of where these new books fit compared to others by the same authors.

Nightwoods by Charles Frazier is a very good read and is at least as good as Cold Mountain and Thirteenth Moon. Out of Oz is Gregory Maguire’s self-proclaimed last n the Wicked series. It is as enjoyable as Wicked and in my opinion better than the other two in the series. Maupin’s Mary Ann in Autumn is a nice continuation of the Tales of the City series and ties together a lot of stories from the other books.

But the best, by far, is Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84. It is now my favorite book of his, which is saying quite a lot since I loved Windup Bird Chronicles. Even at over 900 pages of rather small print, it is a very compelling read. It did not fit my usual reading pattern for long books, which is to read a large chunk of a quarter, third, or half and then intersperse others from my to-be-read pile to change gears for a bit. I’ve had to read 1Q84 straight through, often fitting in 50 or 60 pages in a day.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

